Topic 1: “Visitors” and “Residents”

“Visitors” and “Residents” have different concepts. Both parties use Internet but factors like frequency, duration, objectives of usage vary among them.

“Visitors”

“Visitors” treat Internet as a tool to obtain any necessary information that they require. (White & Le Cornu, 2011 – Reference 1) They only visit the web to collect information required or to get certain procedures done. This explains why they go online and offline as and when they wish to. For example, I went online recently to book tickets for flights and hotels to Penang for my family’s holiday trip during December. I have never visited websites about booking of flights and hotels before but since such a need arises, I turned to Internet to complete the task. Although “Visitors” do not share their social lives on social media like “Residents”, I strongly believe that “Visitors” can also be “Residents” depending on situations.

“Residents”

“Residents” see Internet as a space/place where they can socialize and get engaged with their friends. (White & Le Cornu, 2011 – Reference 1) “Residents” live their life online most of the time. (David White, 2008 – Reference 2) Everything around them revolve around Internet even for daily activities like socializing or even shopping. “Residents” would update their daily lives and share opinions on online communities like Instagram, blogs or twitter etc. Hence, the web plays an important and crucial role in how they get engaged and express themselves. (David White, 2008 – Reference 2)

My own online experience

3171-30880-1-PB

The diagram (White & Le Cornu, 2011 – Reference 1) shows majority of Internet use takes place in the central box. Hence, explaining many circumstances where both parties overlap.

I agree that “Visitors” are a subset of “Residents” (White & Le Cornu, 2011 – Reference 1) therefore I think all “Residents” start off by being “Visitors”. In the past, I would only use Internet for educational aspect to acquire useful information or visit Internet whenever I need to purchase something online. However, due to the constant exposure of Internet and peers’ influence, I have grown from being a “Visitor” to a “Resident” and started creating online profiles.

As a “Resident”, I enjoy sharing my travel, food and life experiences on these social platforms. Furthermore, I do enjoy posting new blog posts daily to constantly update my blog profile. As a “Visitor”, I do use websites which I normally do not visit (i.e. Websites for booking of flights and hotels) if a need arises.

B3a1VzPCIAEGZxt

Therefore, I am a combination of both a “Visitor” and “Resident” depending on the types of websites I use. Furthermore, I do use and own all the online profiles stated in the diagram (Jisc infoNet, 2014 – Reference 3) above.

Thank you for reading and do drop a comment for me too. CHEERIOS! 😀

References

Reference 1

S. White, D. and Le Cornu, A. (2011). Visitors and Residents: A new typology for online engagement. 1st ed. [ebook] Available at:http://firstmonday.org/article/view/3171/3049%20https://comminfo.rutgers.edu
/~tefko/Courses/Zadar/Readings/Selwyn%20dig%20natives,%20Aslib%20Proceedings%202009.pdf [Accessed 26 Nov. 2014].

Reference 2

TALL blog » Blog Archive » Not ‘Natives’ & ‘Immigrants’ but ‘Visitors’ & ‘Residents’. 2014. TALL blog » Blog Archive » Not ‘Natives’ & ‘Immigrants’ but ‘Visitors’ & ‘Residents’. [ONLINE] Available at:http://tallblog.conted.ox.ac.uk/index.php/2008/07/23/not-natives-immigrants-but-visitors-residents/. [Accessed 26 November 2014].

Reference 3

Evaluating digital services: a Visitors and Residents approach – Jisc infoNet. 2014. Evaluating digital services: a Visitors and Residents approach – Jisc infoNet. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.jiscinfonet.ac.uk/infokits/evaluating-services/. [Accessed 27 November 2014].

Visitors and Residents map 1 | Flickr – Photo Sharing!. 2014. Visitors and Residents map 1 | Flickr – Photo Sharing!. [ONLINE] Available at:https://www.flickr.com/photos/jiscinfonet/12947691804/in/set-72157641903755433. [Accessed 27 November 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Topic 1. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Topic 1: “Visitors” and “Residents”

  1. Isaac says:

    Hey XiuZhen, it was quite an interesting read. Here are some of my thoughts after reading your post

    “I agree that “Visitors” are a subset of “Residents” (White & Le Cornu, 2011 – Reference 1)”
    Could you explain why you think visitors are a subset of residents? From my understanding, visitors and residents are opposite ends of a spectrum. You can fall anywhere between this spectrum. It is also possible to be both a visitor and a resident.

    While I understand your journey from being a “Visitor” to a “Resident”. I do not think all “Residents” start off by being a “Visitor”. In my opinion, it is possible for someone to start right off the bat as a “Resident” and later on change they approach to a “Visitor” based on their experiences or situation they are in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cheexiuzhen says:

      Hello Isaac, I am glad you enjoyed reading my blog post. 🙂

      I do see where you are getting from and yes theoretically, visitors and residents are opposite ends of a spectrum. Furthermore, it is possible that anyone can fall between this spectrum.

      However, personally I felt that through my own experience, it is still not entirely impossible to start off by being a “visitor” before moving on to “Resident”. After reading your blog post, similarly to me, you too start off as being a “Visitor” initially and began to slowly see the importance of how the web can greatly benefits you in terms of future career pathways etc.

      Yes I do agree that one can change from being a “Visitor” to a “Resident” or vice versa. But however, I do not agree that one can start right off the bat as a “Resident”. I believe for everyone, it all begins with a need arising before seeking a way to satisfy that need. Hence, requiring the web as a tool is the initial stage. After constant usage of the tool to achieve one’s objectives, he/she will see the power of the web with just a click away. Gradually, due to certain influences, one can easily move on from being a “Visitor” to a “Resident”.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sunnylly says:

    Hi, Xiuzhen~ I really enjoy reading your post:) I think we sure a lot same agreement of about how people from digital visitor become a digital resident. Just like you, I have grown from visitor to resident. I strongly agree on what you said in your post ‘ Although “Visitors” do not share their social lives on social media like “Residents”, I strongly believe that “Visitors” can also be “Residents” depending on situations.’ Just like black and white, there is a gray area in between. Your post has also inspired me on what to write about on our own personal online experience, it provides me lots of ideas! HEHEHE, thank you!! Anyway, I am so impressed that you always finish your work many steps before me! Keep it going, girl! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment