AHA, EUREKA! *light bulb lit up*

child-eureka

 Photo Credits: tnooz

After reading some of the innovative and informative blog posts from #MANG2049 and #UOSM2033, I have found some key learning points about Open Access (OA) that I initially didn’t know about.

Taking into considerations from different perspectives, Ru Huan explained about music aspect which I can relate to. If there’s a particular singer that I like, I would be willing to purchase his/her albums for the superior quality music. However, Dominic’s argument stated “A third of young people would not pay for music online.” I did use “YouTube Converters” before hence like Sylvia, I can relate fairly much that some teenagers would rather download online for free music than spending money to buy an full album.

I strongly agree with Pippa that “we have to accept and embrace technological changes otherwise we will be left behind.” In relations to my post, those content producers that don’t enable OA are going to be at a disadvantage from an educational aspect. Students like me, would choose free publications rather than paid publication as shared by Isaac and my reply to Ian’s comment.

elephant-balance-chiropractic

Photo Credits: Upchiro

I have learnt from Yanyi’s comment that not all information from free publications are reliable as anyone can take, edit and re-post those information online again. Furthermore, I have learnt from Ian that there’s a need to strike a balance for OA. Perhaps for those publications that require extensive research, they can be charged for its quality and reliability of work produced.

touching

 Photo Credits: camtwiststudio

I believe the solution to OA is publishers/authors gaining support from organisations/government as what I have shared in my reply to Vanessa’s comment. This greatly benefits not only students who can enjoy free access to online materials, but also to researchers/authors. They can then concentrate on producing free and good quality work, without worrying about costs incurred.

(300 words)

I commented on Zoe‘s and Catherine‘s blog posts. 😀

References
BENEFITS AND DRAWBACKS OF FREE-FORM CONTENT. | ruhuanng. 2014. BENEFITS AND DRAWBACKS OF FREE-FORM CONTENT. | ruhuanng. [ONLINE] Available at:http://ruhuanng.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/benefits-and-drawbacks-of-free-form-content/. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

Is the entertainment industry going to die out? | Welcome to the Wild Wild Web.. 2014. Is the entertainment industry going to die out? | Welcome to the Wild Wild Web.. [ONLINE] Available at:http://uzoweblife.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/is-the-entertainment-industry-going-to-die-out/. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

A third of young people would not pay for music online, says EC report | Media | The Guardian. 2014. A third of young people would not pay for music online, says EC report | Media | The Guardian. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.theguardian.com/media/2009/aug/04/third-young-people-pay-music-online. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

Topic 5- I will pay for global news but not entertainment! (Reflection) | Sylvia.. 2014. Topic 5- I will pay for global news but not entertainment! (Reflection) | Sylvia.. [ONLINE] Available at:http://sylviakangkang.wordpress.com/2014/12/10/topic-5-i-will-pay-for-global-news-but-not-entertainment-reflection/. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

open-access. 2014. open-access. [ONLINE] Available at:http://pedavies18.wix.com/open-access. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

isaaclye | Paid Vs Free Content. 2014. isaaclye | Paid Vs Free Content. [ONLINE] Available at: http://isaaclye.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/paid-vs-free-content/. [Accessed 10 December 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Topic 5. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to AHA, EUREKA! *light bulb lit up*

  1. Pingback: Final Reflection on MANG 2049 | ELISHA PAY WEN HUI

Leave a comment