Reflective Summary for Topic 1: “Visitors” and “Residents”

After reading some of my classmates’ blogs, I found out that some of them have similar online behaviors like me. However for some cases, agreements and disagreements were voiced out but it is okay because this is where learning takes place. In my opinion, there are no right or wrong perspectives in the different concepts that we individuals have about digital “Visitors” and “Residents”.

evelina

(Taken from Evelina’s blog post)

mine

(Taken from Elisha’s blog post)

I came across Evelina’s blog post (Reference 1) and it links me back to the comment I posted on Elisha’s blog post (Reference 2). Like what Evelina has stated, ‘Change’ is a key and necessary factor for today’s fast pace society. In my opinion, especially for Technology.

recycling lives

(Taken from Recycling Lives’s website)

Hence I found an organisation, ‘Recycling Lives’ that took into considerations and revealed a positive incentive for those who are older generation. At a price of £20 per learner, a basic digital tuition followed by a chance to be rewarded with the tablet they trained on are included. (Reference 3) Hence, I feel that this opportunity gives the older generations a second chance to stand on equal ground with the newer generations who are more IT savvy.

Y

(Taken from Yvonne’s blogpost)

comment

(Taken from Isaac’s blog post)

As stated by Yvonne (Reference 4) about the limitations of the web, I have posted a similar comment on Isaac’s blog post (Reference 5). Although the web provided various tools that enable us to gain the latest insights on news or provide free advertising etc, there are flaws too. Personally, one of the most important flaw is the loss of touch on interpersonal skills and face-to-face interaction. (Reference 6)

To conclude, after reading from the different perspectives of my classmates’ work, I have learnt more about the pros and cons of utilizing the web which are not stated initially in my previous answer. Most importantly, I have learnt that regardless of age, continuous learning will always play a significant part in our growing process.

grow-up

(Taken from Google Search – Reference 7)

Thank you for reading the post about my reflective summary on Topic 1. Hope you enjoyed reading my post as much as I enjoyed writing them! 😀

Till next monday, cheerios! 😉

References

Reference 1:
Visitors and Residents in the Digital World | Evelina lim . 2014. Visitors and Residents in the Digital World | Evelina lim . [ONLINE] Available at: https://evelinalim.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/visitors-and-residents-in-the-digital-world/. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 2:
Who Do You Think You Are? A Visitor Or A Resident? | ELISHA PAY WEN HUI. 2014. Who Do You Think You Are? A Visitor Or A Resident? | ELISHA PAY WEN HUI. [ONLINE] Available at: https://elishapwhisliketat.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/who-do-you-think-you-are-a-visitor-or-a-resident/. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 3:
Our Residents Engage in a Digital Age | Recycling Lives Charity. 2014. Our Residents Engage in a Digital Age | Recycling Lives Charity. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.recyclinglives.org/2014/11/our-residents-engage-in-a-digital-age/. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 4:
A new age of “Digital Residents”? | Yvonne ☼. 2014. A new age of “Digital Residents”? | Yvonne ☼. [ONLINE] Available at:http://yvonneblogs.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/digital-visitors-and-residents/. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 5:
isaaclye | Topic 1 – Visitors, Residents And Me. 2014. isaaclye | Topic 1 – Visitors, Residents And Me. [ONLINE] Available at:http://isaaclye.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/visitors-residents-and-me/. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 6:
Advantages and Disadvantages of Social Networking. 2014. Advantages and Disadvantages of Social Networking. [ONLINE] Available at:http://socialnetworking.lovetoknow.com/Advantages_and_Disadvantages_of_Social_Networking. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

Reference 7:
learning is the part of growing up – Google Search. 2014. learning is the part of growing up – Google Search. [ONLINE] Available at:https://www.google.com.sg/search?q=learning+is+the+part+of+growing+up&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=643&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=Lxx4VLrLNo2eugSysYKADA&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAQ#facrc=_&imgdii=_&imgrc=awJKMomPwThohM%253A%3Bffm7Mpq6WooH-M%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fonlyyouyoga.files.wordpress.com%252F2013%252F05%252Fgrow-up.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fonlyyouyoga.wordpress.com%252F2013%252F05%252F21%252Fyoga-and-following-the-rules%252F%3B900%3B455. [Accessed 28 November 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Topic 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment