My Digital Profile – Self Audit

“Do you dare to Google yourself?”

Let’s side-track for a moment. 🙂 I tried the “Do you dare to Google yourself?” challenge and what it first came up was my achievement in 2009 Singapore Statistical Poster Competition. Me and my team won 2nd place for my secondary school, Yuying, with the topic “Electronic Gadgets. Are We slave To it?”. Ever since then, I realized my growing interest in Statistics as well as Marketing. (Please pardon my 15 years old’s super-awkward-face HAHAH)

2009

SS_2nd

Digital Profile – Self Audit

Back to the main topic, I have completed my self audit before the starting of this module. Shown below is the results for my self audit that I have completed.

For ‘Accessing, managing and evaluating online information‘, I rated myself 3 from a scale of 1 – 5 (where 1 is no experience, and 5 is very experienced). The reason why is that I felt referencing plays a important and critical role in every assignment besides the content itself. Referencing is the most basic respect for acquiring of information from other people’s piece of work. Since Polytechnic till university now, be it group projects or individuals’ assignment, referencing is essential in every piece of work that is to be submitted.

For ‘Participating in online communities‘, I rated myself 3 again. This is mainly because I do participate in online communities as I have created various online profiles like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Blogger and Google etc. I enjoy sharing part of my life on my social networks and similarly, I am also interested in activities of my circle of friends’ as well.

For ‘Building online networks around an area of interest‘, I rated myself 3 as well. As I have shared earlier on, I enjoy knowing more about my friends’ way of life by viewing pictures or videos shared by them via interactive social platforms like Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. Similarly when I am out on travels/cafe-hopping/exploring new food places, I would share through pictures and comments on my news feed too.

For ‘Collaborating with others‘, I rated myself 4. This is because in my Polytechnic Year 1, I had a module called ‘Internet & Web – Technologies’ whereby me and my group mates were required to come up with and design a business website on baby products.

For ‘Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)‘, I rated myself 4 too. In my Polytechnic Year 2, I was placed in NYP’s E-Learning Development Center (ELDC) for a period of time. I was required to create animations/short advertisement clips for clients using Dreamweaver. However, it was quite a challenging and difficult assignment for me.

For ‘Managing your online identity‘, I rated myself 3. As stated earlier on, I do have various online profiles but however I did not manage to update every single account that I have created. The only accounts that I have been managing until today are only Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Google accounts.

For ‘Managing your online privacy and security’, I rated myself 4 as I do believe privacy and security for one’s online accounts is the most important aspect. As for me, I do private all my accounts but however I unlocked security for my Twitter account as it is highly recommended for this course.

1

2

3

My strengths and weaknesses

As for my strengths, it would be that I do have some experiences in the digital world before. Furthermore, I am active on my social platforms especially on my Twitter and Instagram. I do enjoy socializing online with my circle of friends and sharing part of my daily life with them through these online communities.

My weaknesses are although I love to blog, sometimes I really do get QUITE lazy to constantly update my blog and think of what to write for my blog post. This explains why my old blog seems so ‘dead’ now. Adding on, when it comes to IT, I am usually a slow learner hence it will take me some time before I get used to being good at it. Furthermore, neither do I have experience in attending a lecture/live broadcast online at home before nor learning through social platforms like word press and Twitter. Therefore, I hope through this module I would learn how to actively live, learn and work through the web more effectively. 😀

(Thank you for enduring my long blog post) Till my next blog post. :B *waves*

IMG_4562

References

Stat.nus.edu.sg, (2014). The Department of Statistics and Applied Probability, NUS. [online] Available at: http://www.stat.nus.edu.sg/opencms/events/outreach/2009_sspc_winners.html [Accessed 26 Nov. 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment