THE END.

end

Photo Credits: Source

Time flies for 12 days and it’s #MANG2049’s last post. Here‘s my previous post about my skills audit before starting #MANG2049. So let’s do a comparison and see what has changed!

I have learnt better ways to access, manage and evaluate online information apart from my initial basic foundation. I rate myself 4 now after 2 weeks of intensive self-training for these skills. All 5 topics taught me the importance of handling my digital profiles appropriately and have shown me the consequences of not doing so.

I rate myself 4 for participating in online communities. Although I participated in online communities before but after #MANG2049, I have learnt how to manage my online profiles not only for social but for work purposes too. I have a LinkedIn account now and have begin following people/companies mainly in marketing/business/social media industry who are of an influence to me on LinkedIn and Twitter. By doing so, I’m able to get the latest news about them and the activities/events they run. One day, I do hope to attend one of their events.

news

companies

3421

I rate myself 4 as I do build online networks around an area of interest as explained above but not only for personal purposes but also for work connections like LinkedIn and Twitter.

After 2 weeks of intensive #MANG2049, I have better learnt how to collaborate with others through reading, commenting and exchanging different perspectives with my classmates and #UOSM2033 students. I rate myself 4.5 and not 5 because I believe I’m not perfect with this skill yet.

I rate myself 4.5 for creating online materials because I learnt how to use other ways to attract readers’ attractions (i.e. Prezi, videos, Powtoon) I did try using Prezi for Topic 5 but it failed as I didn’t have sufficient time to experiment on it. One of my quick-wins  is definitely to experiment on Prezi/Powtoon to create a more interesting presentation in the future.

I rate myself 4 for managing my online identity as I have learnt to better manage not only my social profiles but also work profiles like WordPress, LinkedIn and Twitter through #MANG2049’s daily blogging/updating.

wordpressin1fbinsta

(Add me by clicking on me!)

I rate myself 4.5 for managing online privacy and security. As compared to before, one of my quick-wins is to create separate identities for social and work as seen from Topic 2. I have learnt how to achieve a work-life balance and protect my privacy rights.

Among all the 5 topics, I like Topic 3 best. Topic 3 completely changed my views about LinkedIn (especially this video) as I didn’t consider managing my online profiles for both social and working purposes before. Building up my LinkedIn profile will definitely be one of my long-term goal as I know it requires time and effort.

Linkedin profile strength

In the future, I would consider presenting my work interestingly through different tools like shown below! Lastly, #MANG2049 has further developed my digital skills and knowledge which will come in handy not only now but in my future working life too.

love *Feeling thankful*

References
Hank Blank – Why College Students Need to Get Into Linkedin – YouTube. 2014. Hank Blank – Why College Students Need to Get Into Linkedin – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Plu2RYqjBA. [Accessed 17 December 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Final Assessed Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment