Reflection Time on Topic 2: Online Identity, Privacy and Security

baby-funny-malicious-meet-again-reflection-Favim.com-252902

Photo Credit: Carolyn Wilson via Friends of social media (Reference 1)

After reading through my classmates’ posts, I came across different perspectives on arguments about one or multiple online identities. I couldn’t say who is right or wrong as each individuals have evidence and experience supporting their own view.

E

 (Taken from Elisha’s blog post)

I do share similar thoughts as Elisha to some extent. Initially I neglected the importance of security for my social networks like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram hence anyone is able to view my posts/pictures that I upload there. However, I changed my mind-set as I began to fear for my privacy when I saw spams/comments from followers that I were unfamiliar with. Since then, I use two-way authentication for all my social accounts in order to not expose my personal life to strangers.

simon

my ans

(Taken from my blog’s comments section)

In reply to Simon’s comment, I think that it is reasonable for employers to base part of their hiring decision on candidates’ social identity. As stated by Evan, I do believe future potential employers do not only look out for one’s professional identity but also for their social life. Similarly as stated by Aetiiqcaz, what employers are looking for through our social identity might be our characters and personality (like being fun-loving and creative) which are what marketers should possess.

header

1

2

3

(Taken from Reference 2)

As shown above, my strategy is #2 (Reference 2). How about yours? Thanks to Pinola, I also found out that for those who have multiple identities, TweetDeck is useful as it enables us to post from multiple accounts on multiple networks.

5285320469_4fd2bdda13

Photo Credit: biglegohead via Flickr (Reference 3)

All in all, I do support having two identities, one for social and one for work. I believe how we portray ourselves on our professional and social identities do matter as employers and potential clients have access to our online identities. I would like to show my employers that I do ‘Work Hard and Play Hard’ and is able to maintain work-life boundaries.

References
Reference 1:
3 ways social media reflects business ethics – Friends of Social Media. 2014. 3 ways social media reflects business ethics – Friends of Social Media. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.friendsofsocialmedia.com/2012/06/3-ways-social-media-reflects-business-ethics/. [Accessed 02 December 2014].

Reference 2:
Pinola, (2014). Should You Use One Profile or Separate Personal and Professional Accounts?. [online] About. Available at: http://mobileoffice.about.com/od/softwarewebapps/a/managing-social-media-profiles_2.htm [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

Reference 3:
Work Hard Play Hard | Flickr – Photo Sharing!. 2014. Work Hard Play Hard | Flickr – Photo Sharing!. [ONLINE] Available at:https://www.flickr.com/photos/57383368@N03/5285320469/in/photolist-943DCZ-mpZEyB-83qN47-cYbcPC-mq1j82-3Ts7ib-dXpZ78-9kCcSb-7yU3NX-dXvp43-7CvN9e-ekWQ1y-5QZirm-okQ7r6-5DNehu-9nDrqm-6LuVix-6K4Z99-owk3B5-5UnWQJ-honiTj-aBEEpy-aBBZva-jaDnjr-9TfMNP-5zZdw2-5zZdma-5A4vpW-5A4uQq-5A4w1y-5A4uc1-5zZdQc-5zZde4-5A4uYA-5A4uky-5A4vHm-5zZe8n-5A4vTA-5zZcCk-5zZe1c-5zZdKK-5A4vgS-5zZcLT-5zZdXa-5A4uub-5A4uH1-5zZd7F-5A4v65-5A4vwj-5zZctP. [Accessed 02 December 2014].

About cheexiuzhen

Hello, I am Xiu Zhen and I am currently 20 years old. I love to spend my free time doing sports, especially basketball, swimming, cycling or roller-blading. I love to spend quality time with my family and friends over a movie or just a cup of coffee. I graduated from NanYang Polytechnic with a diploma in Business Management, specializing in Customer Relationship Management (CRM). Currently, I am pursuing a degree, Bachelor of Science in Marketing, in University of Southampton.
This entry was posted in Topic 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment